Department of Electronics and Computer Engineering

About the Department

The Department of Electronics and Computer Engineering (EKE) at SRM Institute of Science and Technology, Ramapuram, Chennai was established in the year 2019 with the aim to integrate two separate engineering fields to meet the joint demands of Electronics and Computer industries in today’s world.  The department offers four year B.Tech degree in Electronics and Computer Engineering. This program is designed in a way to impart knowledge in both electronics and computer domains to face multiple challenges in the field of Automation, Communication, Electronics, IoT based Systems and Embedded based units.

Societal Demand

Electronics and Computer are the two main pillars of our society these days. In the upcoming years, this trend continues and EKE will eventually emerge as one of the most prominent fields of engineering studies with substantial demand for EKE engineers throughout the world.  As the electronics industry is booming day by day in a rapid manner, also the computer field is not a restricted contour. Unlike any other undergraduate degree, Electronics and Computer Engineering (EKE) offers students the opportunity to work in a wide range of fields. With one degree one can find opportunities in Electronics, Biomedical, Aerospace, Robotics, Computer Hardware and Software Industry.


          SRM Institute of Science and Technology has been awarded with highest grade of A++ grade by National Assessment and Accreditation (NAAC). SRMIST scores 3.55 on a scale of 4, makes it eligible to be granted Autonomy as Category I University as per UGC for the grant of graded autonomy regulations 2018.

Career Scope

Students from Department of Electronics and Computer Engineering can have the best opportunity to get placed in the core companies like

Amtex Beroe
Acciva HCL Technologies
Accenture Solutions Private LtdHewlett Packard
Axis BankMahindra & Mahindra

The graduated students from the Department of Electronics and Computer Engineering shall have the opportunity to select Electronics based courses or Computer based courses for their higher studies.

  • CQU University—Australia
  • Deakin University-Australia
  • Monash University-Australia
  • McGill University-Canada
  • National University of Ireland
  • University College Dubin-Ireland
  • Linkoping University-Sweden
  • Charles Sturt University-Sydney
  • Lamton College-Toronto
  • University of Leicester-United Kingdom
  • Michigan State University-United States
  • New Jersy Institute of Technology- United States
  • University of Houston- United States
  • University of Texas-United States