Campus Level Anti–Ragging Committee 2019-2020

1 Dr.M.Murali Krishna Dean [email protected] Nodal Officer 9989086120
2 Dr.J.Jagadeesan VP(Admin) [email protected] Member 9790740226
3 Dr.G.Prabhakaran


VP(Academic) &HOD(MECH) [email protected]

[email protected]

Member 9884074717


4 Dr.K.Raja HOD(CSE) [email protected] Member 9444280137
5 Dr.Rajeshwari Mukesh HOD I/C(IT) [email protected] Member 9444269921
6 Dr.Phanikumarpolasi HOD(ECE) [email protected] Member 8939382041
7 Mr.D.Senthilvelan HOD I/C(CIVIL) [email protected] Member 9884768635
8 Dr.K.N.Srinivas HOD(EEE) [email protected] Member 9940456454
9 Dr.L.Sudha HOD(PHYSICS) [email protected] Member 9444450062
10 Dr.Helen.P.Kavitha HOD(CHEMISTRY) [email protected] Member 9445209916
11 Dr.V.Rema HOD(EFL) [email protected] Member 9884029266
12 Dr.Shakeela Sathish HOD(MATHS) [email protected] Member 9444404970
13 Ms. Vijayashree HOD I/C (Architect) [email protected] Member 9789926614
14 Dr. UshusS.Kumar HOD I/C (BME) [email protected] Member 9841020647
15 Dr KamatchiSundari V HOD I/C (EKE) [email protected] Member 9952041393
16 Dr. N.Ganesh Kumar HOD I/C (BIO-TECH) [email protected] Member 9474545871
17 Mrs.A.Praveena Asst.Prof/CSE-Girls Hostel [email protected] Member 9444629957
18 Dr.C.M.Balasubramanian Physical Education [email protected] Member 8124613513
19 Mr.Viswakanth Admin Manager [email protected] Member 9444126413
20 Mr.S.Krishnaraj Warden [email protected] Member 8428903140
Convener : Dr.Balika J Chelliah ASSO. PROF/CSE       [email protected]       9444355963


College/ University campus is a place to find valuable friendship and to cherish unforgettable moments. We, here at SRM strongly condemn any kind of ragging practices. Our students welcome the freshers with flowers and advices and they do not believe in violence or unhealthy practices. Our faculty members impart good values with education and that is what set SRM apart.

What constitutes Ragging

Ragging constitutes one or more of any of the following acts:

  • Any conduct by any student or students whether by words spoken or written or by an act which has the effect of teasing, treating or handling with rudeness a fresher or any other student.
  • Indulging in rowdy or undisciplined activities by any student or students which causes or is likely to cause annoyance, hardship, physical or psychological harm or to raise fear or apprehension thereof in any fresher or any other student.
  • Asking any student to do any act which such student will not in the ordinary course do and which has the effect of causing or generating a sense of shame, or torment or embarrassment so as to adversely affect the physique or psyche of such fresher or any other student.
  • Any act by a senior student that prevents, disrupts or disturbs the regular academic activity of any other student or a fresher.
  • Exploiting the services of a fresher or any other student for completing the academic tasks assigned to an individual or a group of students.
  • Any act of financial extortion or forceful expenditure burden put on a fresher or any other student by students.
  • Any act of physical abuse including all variants of it: sexual abuse, homosexual assaults, stripping, forcing obscene and lewd acts, gestures, causing bodily harm or any other danger to health or person.
  • Any act or abuse by spoken words, emails, post, public insults which would also include deriving perverted pleasure, vicarious or sadistic thrill from actively or passively participating in the discomfiture to fresher or any other student.
  • Any act that affects the mental health and self-confidence of a fresher or any other student with or without an intent to derive a sadistic pleasure or showing off power, authority or superiority by a student over any fresher or any other student.

Actions Suggested by AICTE against students indulging and abetting in Ragging

  1. The punishment to be meted out to the persons indulged in ragging has to be exemplary and justifiably harsh to act as a deterrent against recurrence of such incidents. The students who are found to be indulged in ragging should be debarred from taking admission in any technical institution in India.
  2. Every single incident of ragging a First Information Report (FIR) must be filed without exception by the institutional authorities with the local police authorities.
  3. Depending upon the nature and gravity of the offence as established by the Anti-Ragging Committee of the institution, the possible punishments for those found guilty of ragging at the institution level shall be any one or any combination of the following.
    1. Cancellation of admission
    2. Suspension from attending classes
  • Withholding/withdrawing scholarship/fellowship and other benefits
  1. Debarring from appearing in any test/examination or other evaluation process
  2. Withholding results
  3. Debarring from representing the institution in any regional, national or international meet, tournament, youth festival, etc.
  • Suspension/expulsion from the hostel
  • Rustication from the institution for period ranging from 1 to 4 semesters
  1. Expulsion from the institution and consequent debarring from admission to any other institution.
  2. Collective punishment: when the persons committing or abetting the crime of ragging are not identified, the institution shall resort to collective punishment as a deterrent to ensure community pressure on the potential raggers.
  3. The institutional authority shall intimate the incidents of ragging occurred in their premises along with actions taken to the Council immediately after occurrence of such incident and inform the status of the case from time to time.
  4. Courts should make an effort to ensure that cases involving ragging are taken up on priority basis to send the correct message that ragging is not only to be discouraged but also to be dealt with sternness.

Do not be a victim or witness!!

Say No to Ragging!!

Statutory Compliance